Jeff Gordon Leads 2018 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Class

By Jim Utter -

Four-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jeff Gordon leads a seven-member class that will be inducted this year into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

The MSHFA held its first induction ceremony in 1989 and the facility was headquartered in Novi, Mich., from 1989 to 2015 and relocated to Daytona Beach, Fla., in 2016. It is the only hall of fame that encompasses the full spectrum of American motorsports – cars, motorcycles, off-road, powerboats and airplanes.

Joining Gordon in this year’s class are drag racing car builder John Buttera, Indianapolis Motor Speedway founder Carl G. Fisher, record-setting pilot Howard Hughes, motorcycle great Fred Merkel, three-time Indy 500 champion owner U.E. “Pat” Patrick and sports car legend Bob Tullius.

The ceremony is scheduled for March 13at The Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach.

“Our inductee classes are always intriguing but this year is even more so,” said MSHFA President Ron Watson. “Howard Hughes and Jeff Gordon in the same class – that is probably the best example we’ve ever had to illustrate the breadth of our inductee roll.”

Gordon is third all-time in Cup Series wins (93) behind Richard Petty (200) and David Pearson (105). He is fourth all-time in Cup titles with four (1995, ‘97, ‘98, 2001), behind seven-time champions Petty, Dale Earnhardt and Jimmie Johnson.

Gordon won Daytona 500s, five Brickyard 400s and six Southern 500s. He also set an “Iron Man” record with 797 consecutive starts. He was inducted into the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame in 2009.

The Other Inductees

“Lil John” Buttera built...

To continue reading the full article, click here.

Each month, we give away a $100 Jeff Gordon Store gift card to a random fan on the email list. Be sure you're on the list to be eligible! Click here to join for free.

Jeff Gordon -His Dream, Drive & Destiny Cover Jeff Gordon VIP Banner dealership3